Finance and Development Dredgers aim to hold onto their 10 overs championship

02/24/2013 20:51


Fourteen male teams will try to dethrone Finance and Development Dredgers in the 2013 CARIBBEAN ALLIANCE INSURANCE ABSCA 10 OVERS COMPETITION starting today. Last year Dredgers created history by becoming the first second division team to win the 10 overs competition and they are the favorites to advantage out of Group A. They will start their title defense today at 10:00 am against Empire Stars at Dredgers. The defending champion’s lineup includes former national player Anthony “Swango” Mark, Captain Lorenzo Looby, Robin Bascus jr., Ricky Buckley, Andrew George and Dean Williams. A notable challenger for Dredgers in the group stage will be Heritage Sports Cracker Jack who will have players such as hard hitting Myron Phillip, former national player Hencliff Govia and their top bowler for years Calvin Phillip in their lineup. Finance and Development Dredgers defeated Heritage Sports Cracker Jack in the Group stage of this competition last year. Also they defeated them in the finals of the 2nd division CARIBBEAN ALLIANCE INSURANCE ABSCA 30 OVERS CHAMPIONSHIP. However Heritage Sports Cracker Jack went on to win the imobile 20/20 Classic as they defeated Bethesda Prodigals in a one sided affair after Dredgers failed to make the finals.

Asot’s Arcade Lion Hill who won the 1st division CARIBBEAN ALLIANCE INSURANCE ABSCA 30 OVERS CHAMPIONSHIP last year and who came 2nd in the imobile 20/20 Classic will be one of the favorites to win the 2013 ABSCA CARIBBEAN ALLIANCE INSURANCE 10 OVERS COMPETITION as they have improved their lineup with the addition of former national player and former player of the year Alva Joseph. Other notable persons in their lineup includes hard hitting Iva “Ninja” Luke, former national player Jevon “Boon” Howell, Irvin Lewis, former national player and former player of the year Wayne “Heavy Foot” Constant, top wicket taker last year Marvin “Pepsi” Webson and MVP of the 30 overs finals Denley Barthley.

Group C is considered to be the group of death with teams such as FDICIC Strictly Business, United Stars and Friends of Old Road who are all favorites to win this competition. Friends of Old Road were the back to back to back champions of this competition heading into last year so they know what it takes to win it all. After finishing last season without any silverware for the Old Road community for the first time in year’s players such as Marlon “Xman” Richards, Vernon Samuel, Derrick “Pretty Boy” Edwards and Jason Marshall will be aiming to start their 2013 campaign by regaining the 10 overs competition. Their biggest challenge will be coming out of that well contested group. The other top team in the group United Stars will have notable players such as last season’s player of the year Al Burton who had an excellent 2012 campaign. Other players are former national player Seth Burton and hard hitting Baldwin “Spliff” Anthony. The other highly competitive team in that group is FDICIC Strictly Business who has reached the most finals (at least 11) within the last two years but have only went on to win one. Their lineup includes former national players Vaughn “Joey” Christopher (former player of the year), Kenroy “Bingo” Frederick, Alwyn Colbourne, and Glen Horsford. It also includes hard hitting Raymond Leadette, Egbert Francis, Mervin “Dragon” Thomas, Jefferson James, and Keithley “Zaza” Greene.

In Group D, the ABSCA Pre-Season champions East Siders will now be the favorites to advance out of that group with the likes of former national players Kirk “Pan man” Douglas, Cortwright “Carty” Mason, and Walter Carr in their lineup. But Island Boys will be the dark horse in that group on their day they have the goods to beat Bryson’s Bullets and East Siders who are the teams in their group. They will be relying upon players such as Derrick Mourillon, Terrence Hernandez, Steve Simon, Leslie Dunnah, Steve Martin, Patrick Cox and the others to put in a good team performance if they are to advance deep in this competition.   

The question now is will we have a Cinderella in this 10 Overs competition? Can a team such as Empire Stars, Sisserou, Buckley’s 3J’s, Bethesda Prodigals, 300 and Freeman’s Village make a run at the title? Well come on out to Dredgers, PMS, Powells and AGS and watch some keenly contested 10 overs softball cricket.